The TV Talk’s Fall Picks – FOX

While I’m counting down the days until fall, I’ve decided to detail the shows I’m looking forward to (and what I’m not) from each network. Disclaimer: I’ve only seen the trailers and am only going on my intuition as an avid TV viewer. The links will take you to the web site for each new show, click on them to watch trailers and see cast photos.

Returning Favorites:

Although I can’t say I’m a diehard “House” fan anymore, I’m wondering how they’ll explain Cuddy’s departure from the show. Mondays 9pm.

We’ll see if Ryan Murphy keeps his promise to avoid guest stars and tribute episodes and focus on the characters we still know very little about before they “graduate” and the end of “Glee” season 3. Tuesdays 8pm.

I fell out of love with “Raising Hope” somewhere in the middle of the season, but I was able to catch up over the summer and am ready for more of this quirky family. Tuesdays 9:30pm.

“Bones” may be getting a late start, but I can’t wait to see how Bones having Booth’s baby plays out on the show. Thursdays 9pm.

New Series:

“Allen Gregory,” a new animated comedy series from Jonah Hill, has some potential.  However, some have mentioned concerns of taking a precocious child very similar to Family Guy‘s Stewie and making it into an entire series. Sundays at 8:30 in October.

From what I’ve seen so far, I’m not totally sold on “Terra Nova,” but it’s pedigree (the Steven Spielberg factor), the cast, and the ambition involved in creating a TV series with this level of special effects give me hope. Mondays 8pm.

I could not be more excited to see Zooey Deschanel on my TV on a weekly basis in “New Girl.”  She looks great, the show looks funny, what more can I say? Tuesdays 9pm.

“The X Factor” – Seriously? Another “American Idol”-style competition series? I gave NBC’s “The Voice” a shot, although I’m not a fan of this type of series in general. I might give it a shot just to see British pop star Cheryl Cole before she was replaced. Wednesdays & Thursdays 8-10pm.

I’m going to give the new multi-camera comedy “I Hate My Teenage Daughter” a few episodes, mainly because of Jaime Pressly and my enjoyment of the show’s concept of two women whose daughters are turning into the mean girls they hated in high school.  However, the show looks a little shrill and I’m never a fan of the laugh track. Wednesdays 9:30pm in November.

That’s about it for FOX, who has more coming in midseason with J.J. Abrams‘s “Alcatraz,” the somewhat tardy animated adaptation of the cult hit “Napoleon Dynamite,” and Bones spinoff “The Finder.”

Also, don’t forget to check out my take on NBC’s Fall Schedule, my take on CBS’s Fall Schedule, my take on ABC’s Fall Schedule, and my take on the CW’s Fall Schedule.

Source: FOX

Leave a Reply

